Achieving Flow: 8 Different Stages Of Yoga

  • Yama: one must achieve restraint from acts and thoughts that might harm others.
  • Niyama: obedience, follow routines in cleanliness, study and obedience to God. Help channel attention into predictable patterns and hence make attention easier to control.
  • Asana: ways of sitting and holding postures for long periods without succumbing to strain or fatigue.
  • Pranayama: breath control, aims to relax the body and stabilizes the rhythm of breathing.
  • Pratyahara: Withdrawal, learning to withdraw attention from outward objects by directing the input of the senses.
  • Dharana : holding on, is the ability to concentrate for long periods on a single stimulus and thus is the mirror image of the earlier stage of pratyahara.
  • Dhyana: one learns to forget the self in uninterrupted concentration that no longer needs the external stimuli of the preceding phase.
  • Samadhi : self collectedness, when the meditator and the object of meditation become as one.

Sign Up for NextBigWhat Newsletter

Curated. Summarized. Important News. For free.

You May Also Like

The Present Bias

Our biases point us toward the present.  So when given a choice between an immediate reward (say, $1,000 right now) and a reward we have to wait for ($1,150 in…
View Post

Use your anger productively.Think

Use your anger productively. Think of anger as a fuel that can energize you to solve problems.  Like any fuel, though, it can be unstable. If it gets out of…
View Post