Google has finally announced that it will no longer use your Google+ profile as your identity across Google products and the change will begin rolling out over the next few months.
One of the first services to benefit from this will be YouTube. Users will be able to share content, communicate with contacts and create YouTube channels through a standard Google account.
Further, the company seems to want to win back the hearts of all the users it forced into signing up for Google+ by offering better options for managing and removing their Google+ profile.
For YouTube, the change will affect comments and channels on the site as both were powered by Google+. Going forward, no comments made on YouTube will show up on a person’s Google+ profile.
Features such as Google+’s comment moderation features such as comment review, auto-approve comments from certain users have been retained, but with the lack of Google+.
In the coming weeks, you no longer will require a Google+ account in order to upload, comment or create a channel on YouTube, and in the coming months you’ll be able to delete your Google+ account wholly.
As much as we’d like it, Google+ isn’t going away, but Google is solving pretty much the only problem I had with it – I’m not forced to be on the social network anymore.
Google has already spun off Google Photos into a separate service and will bring location sharing to Hangouts in the coming months, but will continue to build new features into Google+.