Govt Mandates Support For Indian Languages in Phones From July 2017


The centre has mandated support for Indian languages in all mobile phones to be sold in the country starting July 1, 2017. As per the new mandate, which was notified in October this year, all mobile phones in the country will have to provide text reading support in all Indian languages on their devices.

The order mandates mobile devices to support display of content in 22 official Indian languages and provide input capability for three languages—Hindi, English and one local language. The order is line with the govt’s Digital India vision.

Leave a Reply