PM Modi’s Constituency Varanasi And 26 Other Cities Get Smart City Tag

The central govt has announced the third set of 27 cities for financing under its flagship Smart City Mission, and PM Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi has made it to the coveted list. India plans to have 100 smart cities by 2022. 60 have been chosen so far, including 20 in January and 13 in May, the remaining will be selected by 2018.

The 27 cities selected in this round will require a total investment of Rs 66,883 crore. Here’s the list of the cities picked up for the urban overhaul.


Sign Up for nextbigwhat newsletter

The smartest newsletter, partly written by AI.

Download, the short news app for busy professionals