Govt Declares Nominations For Smart Cities; 13 Cities From UP, KA Omits Bangalore

The Union government has declared nominations for 98 cities that will be developed as smart cities under PM Modi’s Smartcity Mission pet project.

Under the mission, the centre has earmarked Rs 48,000 crore for the development of 100 smart cities across India. Each city will receive Rs 100 crore per year as Central Assistance for 5 years.

24 State capitals too have been nominated for the Smartcity Mission while 2 cities will be announced at a later data making up 100 cities for the program.

UP has bagged the highest number of nominations – 13 cities, while Tamil Nadu bagged 12, Maharashtra 10, Madhya Pradesh 7, Karnataka 6, Gujarat 6, while Bihar and AP bagged 3 each.

Surprisingly, the nominations for the Smartcity Mission exclude the names of Bangalore, Kolkata and Patna. While UP has 13 nominations, only 12 have been shortlisted.

“Smart cities will have the core infrastructure and will give a quality and decent life to citizens. It will enable a clean environment and provide smart solutions to problems,” said Venkaiah Naidu, Union Minister for Urban Development.

Barring Jammu and Kashmir, all states have finalised the names proposed for smart cities through the competition that was launched on June 25 by PM Narendra Modi.

Image credit: Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

Sign Up for NextBigWhat Newsletter