Government claims to have released Aarogya Setu’s Backend code..but actually it is the frontend one

While media houses are celebrating the Indian govt’s claim of releasing the Aarogya Setu app’s backend code, it in reality is the front end code. If you are a developer, it is easy to see that this is NOT the backend code, only some React frontend views that might be embedded inside WebViews in the mobile apps. The actual backend is still being accessed through the APIs, for example: See the check status “API” – This actually just proxies to API at (which is of course inaccessible without the API token). Same here, the actual API being accessed lies at another external link for which there is no source code. [From Reddit]

Mandating use of Aarogya Setu app illegal: Justice B N Srikrishna

“Under what law do you mandate it on anyone? So far it is not backed by any law. The Noida police order (of Rs. 1000 fine if the person doesn’t have the app) is totally unlawful. I am assuming this is still a democratic country and such orders can be challenged in court” Justice Srikrishna said that the guidelines cannot be considered as having sufficient legal backing to make the use of Aarogya Setu mandatory.

Aarogya Setu app mandatory for passengers taking flights #epass

Travelers will be asked to download the Aarogya Setu app mandatorily and the app will act as an e-pass for their travel. (you will only be allowed if the app shows green status). Apart from that it will be compulsory for the passengers to wear face cover and undergo screening at departure and only asymptomatic passengers will be allowed to board the flights. Domestic flight may resume from May 18.

Aarogya Setu gets 2/5 on MIT's tracker index

According to MIT experts, India’s Aarogya Setu scores positive on the timely deletion of user data and collection of only useful data criteria, but it fails to score on voluntary use, limitations of data usage, and transparency criteria. Covid-19 apps scoring positive on all five categories in this list include from those from Singapore, Australia, Norway, Israel, Czech Republic, Iceland and Austria.