The layers of the brain

The brain is surrounded by three layers of membrane: the dura mater (“hard mother”), the arachnoid mater (“spider mother”) and the pia mater (“soft mother”).

The dura provides pain sensitivity, the arachnoid layer stabilizes the brain in position and acts as a shock absorber, and the pia is fused with the brain’s surface and is embedded with blood vessels.

Sign Up for NextBigWhat Newsletter

Curated. Summarized. Important News. For free.

You May Also Like

The Soap Opera Sequence

When somebody joins your list for the first time, it’s important to quickly build a bond between them and the Attractive Character. The key to making this sequence work is…
View Post