The Indian Rupee Symbol has been encoded in Unicode Standard, National Standard ISCII and you will be able to use it by pressing “Alt Gr” + “4” keys in future. As far as keyboard support for the Rupee symbol is concerned, it will be rolled out by January, 2012.rupeesymbol

TDIL DataCenter has also release a tool to type Rupees Symbol along with updated “SakalBharati” font. Sakal Bharati is a Unicode based Open Type font which includes 11 scripts in one font i.e. Assamese, Bengali, Devanagari, Gujarati, Kannada Malayalam, Oriya, Punjabi, Telugu, Tamil & Urdu. It has used Mono thick (Equal thickness of horizontal stems and vertical stem) glyphs for all scripts. This tool enables you to type Rupees Symbol in your documents using ALT + GR + 4 combinations on QWERTY keyboard ( “SakalBharati” font download link).

How to type Rupees Symbol using the above tool:
1. Open the application where you want to type this rupees symbol.
2. Select “SakalBharati” or any other Unicode font having Rupees Symbol.
3. Open the Rupee Symbol Typing tool ( By double clicking its icon on Desktop )
4. Press ALT (Placed on Right hand side of the keyboard) + 4.
Microsoft has also released an update to support the new currency symbol for the Indian Rupee in Windows Vista, in Windows Server 2008, in Windows 7 and in Windows Server 2008 R2.