The government has approved the auction of 5G spectrum in India. The 5G auction is said to be held on July 26, 2022.

According to the Department of Telecommunications (DoT), initially 5G will be available in 13 cities across the country.

These 13 cities are Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Chennai, Delhi,  Gandhinagar, Gurugram, Hyderabad, Jamnagar, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai and  Pune.

All three major telecom operators namely Jio, Airtel and Vi (Vodafone Idea) have already set up  trial sites in these cities. have done.

DoT has already partnered with eight agencies for the indigenous 5G  (/topic/5g) test bed project which started in 2018 and is to be  completed by December 31, 2021.

These agencies are IIT Bombay, IIT  Delhi, IIT Hyderabad, IIT Madras, IIT Kanpur, Indian Institute of  Science (IISC) Bangalore .

The government is also considering measures to reduce the cost of doing business for telecom service providers.