Bhagwant Mann Becomes First AAP Chief Minister of Punjab as He Takes Oath Today

Bhagwant Mann of Aam Admi Party took oath as Punjab's 17th Chief Minister in a ceremony held at Khatkar Kalan, the birthplace of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh.

Aam Admi Party leader and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and other senior party members attended the swearing-in ceremony.

The party recorded a landslide victory, winning 92 seats in the 117-seat Punjab Assembly. The win also marks the expansion of the AAP government outside Delhi.

Mann won by a margin of 58,206 votes from Dhuri Assembly constituency in Sangrur district. He was also a Lok Sabha member of Parliament before taking the oath.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led party will now have two states Delhi, and Punjab.

In the 2017 Punjab Assembly polls, the AAP emerged as the second-largest party winning 20 seats in the 117-member Assembly.

Source: MoneyControl