Government to Reduce AFSPA in the Northeast; What is It?

AFSPA which stands for Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act gives certain power to the Indian Armed Forces to maintain public order in "disturbed areas".

According to the Disturbed Areas Act, 1976 once declared 'disturbed', the area has to maintain the status quo for a minimum of 6 months.

Certain areas in northeastern states and Jammu & Kashmir were placed under these special acts long ago.

The Central Government will withdraw it entirely from 23 districts in Assam, and partially from seven districts in Nagaland, six districts in Manipur, and one district in Assam.

Once the decision is notified in the gazette, AFSPA remains in force in parts of these three states as well as in parts of Arunachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir.

The AFSPA empowers security forces to arrest a person without a warrant, enter or search premises without a warrant along with some other actions.