Karnataka election 2023: Voting begins for 224 assembly seats

Karnataka held elections to elect a new government with high stakes for the BJP and Congress.

A total of 2,615 candidates contested for 224 assembly constituencies.

The Election Commission registered 42,48,028 new voters for the elections, with a total of 5.3 crore voters expected to cast their votes.

There were 58,545 polling stations set up across 37,777 locations.

Prime Minister Modi urged the people of Karnataka, especially young and first-time voters, to participate in large numbers.

Votes will be counted on Saturday, and to achieve a majority in the 224-member assembly, a minimum of 113 seats is required.

Source: HT