Mallikarjun Kharge becomes new Congress President with 90% votes

Mallikarjun Kharge is set to be the first non-Gandhi chief of the Congress in 24 years.

Mr Kharge, widely seen to be the "Gandhi-approved" candidate, won 90 per cent of the votes cast on Monday.

He scored 7,897 votes while Shashi Tharoor finished with 1,072.

Even before the results were announced, Rahul Gandhi had declared Mr Kharge as the winner at a press conference in Karnataka.

The counting of votes, which began at 10 am at the Congress headquarters in Delhi, ended around 1 pm.

Source: NDTV