Matthew Wade steps up as captain for Australia in T20I against India

Fill in some text

Eight Australian cricketers will remain in India for a forthcoming five-match T20I series after the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup.

The 15-player lineup includes Matthew Wade as captain, David Warner, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Adam Zampa.

Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, and reserve Tanveer Sangha will also stay on in India, along with IPL stars Tim David, Matt Short, and Nathan Ellis.

Pat Cummins will return home after the World Cup, along with Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazelwood, Mitchell Marsh, and Cameron Green.

The selection committee appreciates the blend of youth and experience in the team to face India over five matches.

The squad includes eight members of the current ODI World Cup team and Tanveer Sangha who is a travelling reserve.