President Ram Nath Kovind's tenure is set to end on July 24 and as  per Article 62 of the Constitution, an election for the next president  must be held before the completion of the incumbent's term.

The Election Commission (EC) is expected to announce the schedule for the presidential election today , June 9.

It should be noted that the presidential elections in 2017 were held on  July 17 while the declaration of the winner was made three days later on  July 20.

A President in India is elected by the members of the electoral college comprising of elected members of both the houses - Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha - of Parliament.

Elected members of legislative assemblies of all states and Union  Territories of Delhi as well as Puducherry also take part in the voting  process.

The nominated members of either Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha or legislative  assemblies of the states are not eligible to be included in the  electoral college and therefore, they are not entitled to participate in  the election.

Similarly, members of the legislative councils are also not electors for the presidential election.