Punjab will see a multi-cornered election, when over two crore voters come out to exercise their franchise on February 20.

The ruling Congress, AAP, SSM, and two alliances Shiromani Akali Dal-BSP and BJP-Punjab Lok Congress have fielded candidates across 117 seats.

It is going to be one of the most closely fought elections in the border state that has largely seen two-cornered fights.

It will be the first time ever in the state that four people who have held  the CM’s post would be contesting the elections, including three former CMs and a serving CM.

Congress CM face Charanjit Singh Channi will be contesting from Bhadaur and Chamkaur Sahib seats, SAD patriarch Parkash Singh Badal from Lambi.

Punjab Lok Congress founder Capt Amarinder Singh from Patiala, and Congress leader Rajinder Kaur Bhattal from Lehra.

In the 2017 elections, the Congress clinched a landslide victory by bagging 77 seats.


The AAP emerged as the principle opposition party by winning 20 seats. SAD won 15 seats and the BJP won three.

This time, however, a resurgent AAP and  an ambitious BJP, contesting all seats for the first time in the last 24  years, have altered the poll dynamics