Rishabh Pant will lead India in the T20I series  against South Africa after KL Rahul was ruled out of the series due to a  right groin injury.

Left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav has also been ruled out of the series owing to injury.

Wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant is going to lead India in the series now.

Hardik Pandya has been appointed vice-captain.

India's Designated captain Rohit Sharma, former captain Virat Kohli and  premier paceman Jasprit Bumrah are among a clutch of top players who  have been rested for this series after more than two months of IPL  cricket.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named wicket-keeper Rishabh  Pant as Captain and Hardik Pandya as vice-captain for the home series  against South Africa.