UP election 2022 second phase voting: All you need to know 

A total of 55 constituencies spread across nine districts will go to polls in the second of seven phase elections

The Second Phase

At least 55 constituencies spread across nine districts will vote from 7 am to 6 pm, sealing the fate of 586 candidates in India's most populous state.

The Second Phase

The districts include Saharanpur, Bijnor, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Amroha, Budaun, Bareilly and Shahjahanpur

Polling Districts

source : HT

In the 2017 polls, the BJP had won 38 of these 55 seats, while the Samajwadi Party had bagged 15 and the Congress two

2017 election results

The constituencies going to polls have a sizeable chunk of Muslim voters, which the SP has an eye on. Saharanpur is home to the Darul Uloom Deoband

The Deoband factor

The key SP candidate is contesting the election from the jail from Rampur. Denied interim relief by the Supreme Court.

Azam Khan factor

BJP campaigns has centered around reminding voters of the alleged lawlessness and Muzzffarnagar riots during the tenure of Akhilesh Yadav.

The Gundaraaj