UP election result 2022 :  BJP leads in 272 seats; celebrates early holi

Yogi Adityanath is set for a second term as chief minister of Uttar Pradesh with BJP leading in 265 seats; SP IN 133, Congress 2.

Leading in 265 seats

The BJP has got 44.6 per cent of the vote, data at 2 pm showed: a significant 5 per cent improvement over the 2017 elections.

Voting Percentage

Samajwadi Party gained seats over the last election but fell far short of the party's expectations. The Bahujan Samaj Party and the Congress were leading in 2 and 1 seats.

Other Parties

Yogi Adityanath's victory speech at 5pm; PM Modi to reach BJP HQ in Delhi at 7pm

Ready for victory speech

UP election result: BJP leads on 6 Varanasi seats, trails behind SP on 2. In 2017, BJP and its allies won all eight seats of Varanasi.

BJP in Varanasi

The UP polls are being seen are an indicator of the national mood ahead of the 2024 general elections.

National Mood for 2024