UP Election Results 2022: BJP Eyes Historic Return, Takes Big Lead Over SP

As counting of votes for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections began at 8 am on Thursday, 10 March, the BJP took lead in over 100 seats with the Samajwadi Party at the second spot as of 9:10 am.

Yogi Adityanath will become the first chief minister of the state to retain the top post for two consecutive terms.

source : quint

CM Yogi Adityanath is leading from the Gorakhpur Urban constituency as per initial trends and SP leader Shivpal Yadav is leading in the Jaswant Nagar

Both Yogi Adityanath and Akhilesh Yadav contested their maiden Assembly elections from the Gorakhpur Urban and Karhal constituencies respectively

The BJP in 2017 bagged a resounding victory by winning 325 out of the 403 Assembly seats and SP, with Congress alliance, had won just 47 seats in 2017

The BJP is eyeing a historic return to become the first ever party to retain power for a second consecutive term in the state.