WhatsApp has finally rolled our “Delete” feature (i.e. unsend messages) to save you from any embarrassment of sorts.
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. (via)
Note that in order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone. Of course, you can’t control this.
Plus, You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful – i.e. it isn’t full-proof feature – but atleast you have a saviour.